top of page
  • Nabeel

Manchester City announce plethora of new academy contracts

Manchester City have announced several new contracts within the academy, with some highly-rated youngsters signing their first professional contracts, while others have extended their deals, and others signing scholarships at the club.



City have confirmed that seventeen members of the immensely successful Under-18 and EDS Premier League title-winning sides have now signed their first professional deals - amongst those Romeo Lavia and Luke Mbete, who are highly rated in particular.

The seventeen players being: Josh Adam (17/MD), Kian Breckin (17/MD), Carlos Borges (17/FWD), Shea Charles (17/CB), Callum Doyle (17/CB), Harvey Griffiths (17/DM), Darko Gyabi (17/MD), Micah Hamilton (17/AM), Juan Larios (17/LB), Romeo Lavia (DM/17), Luke Mbete (17/CB), Josh McNamara (17/GK), Adedire Mebude (17/FWD), Kwaku Oduroh (18/RB), Liam Smith (17/FWD), Tai Sodje (17/FWD) and Mikki van Sas (17/GK).

Callum Doyle has been linked to a two-year loan move to Sunderland.

Romeo Lavia and Luke Mbete have been reported as being among those Pep Guardiola will be taking a close look at during preseason this summer in games against Preston North End and ES Troyes AC.

Last month, Mike McGrath of The Telegraph reported that Lavia was being considered for the City first team by Guardiola, who wants to provide backup to his midfielders, while central defender Mbete was attracting interest from the likes of Juventus, according to reports earlier in the year.

Romeo Lavia | Photo courtesy of Andrew Yates Sportimage/Imago


City have also announced contract extensions for Lewis Fiorini (19/MD) until 2026, Ben Knight (19/FWD) until 2025, and Cieran Slicker (18/GK) until 2024.

We covered reports from MCFC Reserves & Academy at the start of the month in which it was revealed lifelong City fan Fiorini had signed an extension at the club before his loan move to Lincoln City in League One. The midfielder spent last season on loan at NAC Breda in the Netherlands.

Knight and Slicker were part of the Premier League 2 title-winning side last season.



City have revealed that a further twelve players have signed scholarships at the club, with all of them being part of the Under-18 squad next season.

The twelve players being: Luca Barrington, Will Dickson, Jadel Katongo, Rico Lewis, George Murray-Jones, Daniel Ogwuru, Nico O’Reilly, Isaac Smith, Mamadou Susoho, Kane Taylor, Matthew Whittingham, and Tomas Galvez, who Rising Ballers reported as having turned down the likes of Chelsea, Arsenal, and Liverpool to join City - the 16-year-old left-back joins the club from Watford.


Written by: @NA1907_

Follow our Twitter account for reliable, live updates on all the latest news surrounding this story and everything Manchester City in real time.

bottom of page